CAMPEROTA - CAMPANIA - SOUTH ITALY
HISTORY AND BACKGROUND
Marina di Camerota, the sea side area of the higher "Camerota town", features so many beautiful and natural characteristics that are the grounds on which it is also called the "Pearl of Cilento".
Camerota and it's Marina, seem to have dived in a world suspended in time, that nature has filled with gifts almost everywhere, the village surrounded by green, the fresh springs that irrigate the valley, the beautiful sea and it's aquatic world also explored by many divers and last but not least, something very natural and spontaneous is the very friendly character of it's people.
WHERE TO EAT - WHERE TO HAVE FUN - SPONSORS
YOUR ADVERTISEMENT BANNER HERE
Just off to the notorious Amalfi Coast and in the heart of the Cilento National Park, Marina di Camerota lies on an arc shaped part of this beautiful rugged coast, sitting beside a crystal clear sea, rich in olive trees dating back to the Saracens' era. Marina di Camerota is set between two small hills surmounted by Saracen towers that rise fiercely on the promontory, dominating the town almost to protect it.
The coastline has very fine sandy beaches and the most unforgettable and breathtaking paradise of innumerable caves, easy to visit by boat to live the enchantment of uncontaminated nature.
Covered with rich natural vegetation, small bays, caves and small beaches it offers very suggestive locations for a relaxing and natural holiday, such as "Cala Fortuna", "Cala Monte di Luna", "Le Sirene", "Cala del Cefalo", "L'Oliveto di Mingardo", that has been designated as a natural park for its beauty and wealth of environmental items.
This wonderful little town, just sits on the coast, treating it's visitors to such an unforgettable sight with innumerable caves, wonderful ravines, the flowering and luxuriant vegetation, the charming beaches...all together seem to mesmerize the human senses.
It's tourist port, one of the most modern in this area allows relaxing walks along the new piers and the movable wharfs.
History and Background
Pronounced "CAMMAROTA" by the inhabitants of the area, the name of this town comes from the Greek "Kamaratos" meaning "curved, vaulted" probably connected to the presence of many caves chosen as a shelter by Italian-Greek monks who arrived here in the 7th century a.C.
The first human settlements date back to the final stage of the ice age. The first historic trace of this town dates back to 1079 when Alfano, bishop of Salerno, gave the bishop of Policastro the jurisdiction on Camerota and other lands.
Further information is found during the Angevin age: Charles d'Angiņ gave the "Castles of Camerota" and "Molpa "to Giles of Blamur.
From 1337 to the whole 15th century, Camerota was administered by the Sanseverinos.
During the 15th century the Luzios, Goffredo Palagano and Carlo Caracciolo were given the feud whilst Barbarians and Turkish threatened invasion on the coast of Cilento, causing the construction of frequently found sighting necessary.
In 1532 the attacks by the pirate Dragut hit many centres such as Camerota strongly. In 1554 the feud was bought by Sancio Martinez de Lejna, then it passed to Camillo Pignatelli and eventually it was sold to the Marcheses' who kept it till the rebellion of the feudal system. Camerota started being mentioned again during the French decade when it was taken over by the troops of General Regnier.
During the revolutionary revolts of 1828, the rebels gathered in the mother church singing the "Te Deum" and underwent the hard reaction of General del Carretto and the following shootings.